What to plant now

Florence Fennel

Fennel forever

Wed, 16/08/2017 - 8:09pm

Penny Woodward explores the many uses of fabulous fennel, and includes growing tips and a recipe for fennel butter.

Winter Greens

What to plant in August

Mon, 31/07/2017 - 8:00am

Get out and about in the late winter sunshine with the help of Justin Russell's suggestions for what to plant now.

Asian greens

What to plant in July

Wed, 28/06/2017 - 12:49pm

Before planting in July it pays to take your soil's temperature, says Justin Russell.

Winter salads

What to plant in June

Wed, 31/05/2017 - 8:00am

Don't be tempted to hibernate because winter is here, says Justin Russell, there's still plenty of planting to be done in June.

May Veg Patch

What to plant in May

Mon, 01/05/2017 - 2:45pm

As autumn begins its descent into winter Justin Russell says it’s time to plant for the season ahead.

A basket of garlic surrounded by other onions

Do you know your onions?

Mon, 24/04/2017 - 10:44am

Penny Woodward says that now is a good time to know your 'other' onions.

Saffron flower showing stigma

Salute to saffron

Tue, 28/03/2017 - 12:28pm

Saffron's stigma is worth its weight in gold, explains Penny Woodward. 

Heirloom Carrots

What to plant in April

Sat, 18/03/2017 - 8:00am

It's a glorious time of year to be planting. Justin Russell has suggestions for what can go in now across Australia.

Boards on garden beds

Planting the seed

Mon, 13/03/2017 - 4:29pm

Penny Woodward shares tips for planting carrot and parsnip seeds.

Delicious radish

Radish for breakfast?

Mon, 27/02/2017 - 3:55pm

As you pull out summer vegies, PENNY WOODWARD suggests a quick-growing replacement.

Pages