What to do now

More or less space?

When more is less

Tue, 03/04/2018 - 8:00am

The more the land, the more ambitious Simon Webster’s gardening vision became. 

Autumn Light

Gardening jobs for April

Thu, 29/03/2018 - 11:25am

With its golden light and pleasant working conditions, autumn is a magical time of the year to be gardener, says Justin Russell. 

Surprise potato

The accidental gardener

Thu, 22/03/2018 - 3:04pm

Simon Webster cottons on to a new way of gardening – expect the unexpected – at Plot Farm. 

Green Manure

Gardening jobs for March

Thu, 01/03/2018 - 8:48am

Justin Russell reckons it's time to take advantage of pleasant autumn weather and get stuck into gardening jobs.

Green sprouting broccoli

Bountiful broccoli

Thu, 08/02/2018 - 12:00am

Broccoli isn't just a one-head wonder, you can encourage multiple harvests of delicious side shoots. Justin Russell shows you how. 

Tommy toes

Jobs for February

Wed, 31/01/2018 - 10:00am

Planning a big weekend in the garden? Justin Russell gives a rundown on some of the major gardening jobs for Feb.

Worm liquid is a relatively easy-to-produce home-made liquid fertiliser.

Liquid gold

Mon, 22/01/2018 - 4:19pm

Penny Woodward investigates the expanding range of liquid fertilisers, from seaweed extracts to manure teas.

Qld Fruit Fly

Gardening jobs for January

Tue, 16/01/2018 - 8:00am

Join Justin Russell in 2018 for seasonal gardening tips to keep your patch thriving.

A developing tomato

Doing the tomato shake

Mon, 08/01/2018 - 4:27pm

Shake your tomato flowers to help with pollination and set fruit, writes Penny Woodward.

pickling cucumbers

All bottled up

Thu, 14/12/2017 - 12:00am

Cucumbers aren't just salad extras. Give them a starring role as pickles. Justin Russell explains. 

Pages