Compost & soil

Vegie Patch

Grow like a boss

Mon, 25/05/2015 - 2:44pm

JUSTIN RUSSELL celebrates 16 years of food growing by sharing his one fundamental principle for gardening success.

taking a soil sample for testing

Testing times

Fri, 13/02/2015 - 3:15pm

Soil testing in the Patch from Scratch backyard revealed the extent of environmental contamination in our cities, writes JACQUELINE FORSTER.

Wheelbarrow with compost

Growing in sand

Thu, 15/01/2015 - 4:30pm

Sandy soils, says PENNY WOODWARD, can be challenging for gardeners.

Soil Wetter

How to beat hydrophobia

Thu, 13/11/2014 - 3:57pm

Is your soil afraid of water? JUSTIN RUSSELL shares tips for combatting hydrophobic soil.

 

Black biochar

What is biochar?

Tue, 28/10/2014 - 10:58am

PENNY WOODWARD explains biochar and how it can be used.

7 keys to healthy soil

Thu, 30/01/2014 - 12:37pm

Healthy soil is the cornerstone of organic gardening. TIM MARSHALL reveals the keys to ensuring your soil is at its bests.

Zucchini with cupped leaves

Herbicide alert

Fri, 13/12/2013 - 1:38pm

It’s crucial to know the source of manure or mulch you use says PENNY WOODWARD.

Mulched tomato seedling

Mulches and mulching

Wed, 06/11/2013 - 5:29pm

As the weather warms up and before soils dry out, PENNY WOODWARD is laying mulch. Why do we mulch and what can we use?

Easy composting

Shortcuts to better soil

Tue, 08/10/2013 - 12:21pm

PHIL DUDMAN outlines a simple time-saving technique for improving soil.

Creating Tilth

How to create tilth

Fri, 09/08/2013 - 3:02pm

Ever heard a gardener talk about something called “tilth” and wondered what on earth they were on about. JUSTIN RUSSELL offers a definition and explains how to create soil that's ready for spring...

Pages