Compost & soil

Black biochar

What is biochar?

Tue, 28/10/2014 - 10:58am

PENNY WOODWARD explains biochar and how it can be used.

7 keys to healthy soil

Thu, 30/01/2014 - 12:37pm

Healthy soil is the cornerstone of organic gardening. TIM MARSHALL reveals the keys to ensuring your soil is at its bests.

Zucchini with cupped leaves

Herbicide alert

Fri, 13/12/2013 - 1:38pm

It’s crucial to know the source of manure or mulch you use says PENNY WOODWARD.

Mulched tomato seedling

Mulches and mulching

Wed, 06/11/2013 - 5:29pm

As the weather warms up and before soils dry out, PENNY WOODWARD is laying mulch. Why do we mulch and what can we use?

Easy composting

Shortcuts to better soil

Tue, 08/10/2013 - 12:21pm

PHIL DUDMAN outlines a simple time-saving technique for improving soil.

Creating Tilth

How to create tilth

Fri, 09/08/2013 - 3:02pm

Ever heard a gardener talk about something called “tilth” and wondered what on earth they were on about. JUSTIN RUSSELL offers a definition and explains how to create soil that's ready for spring...

Adding compost to tea bag

How to make compost tea

Wed, 31/07/2013 - 4:49pm

In the March/April 2012 issue of Organic Gardener magazine, SIMON WEBSTER investigates how to make a successful brew of compost tea: the essence of organic farming and gardening. Plus he provides...

Compost Bin

Make a cheap compost bin

Tue, 18/06/2013 - 12:12pm

JUSTIN RUSSELL explains how to make a compost heap from cheap, locally sourced materials.

Mushroom compost and pests

Fri, 29/03/2013 - 5:27pm

In the May/June issue of Organic Gardener magazine, JERRY COLEBY-WILLIAMS digs into the mysterious world of fungi and how to grow your own.

NICK ROMANOWSKI and Jerry offer some additional...

Jerry’s clay soil fix

Sat, 26/01/2013 - 2:38pm

In the March/April 2013 issue of Organic Gardener, Jerry Coleby-Williams explains the essentials of good soil and how to remedy problems.

When he moved from the UK to Australia it took him...

Pages