Herbs & spices

Bay tree leaves and flowers

The virtuous bay

Fri, 10/02/2017 - 8:00am

Plant a bay, says PENNY WOODWARD, it's one of the most useful trees you can grow.

Sage in flower

Savoury sage

Sun, 08/01/2017 - 3:37pm

Sage advice: used in medicine and cooking, it's well worth a grow in your garden says PENNY WOODWARD.

Basil

The best of basil

Wed, 02/11/2016 - 1:23pm

There's more than one basil for your kitchen garden, writes PENNY WOODWARD.

November planting

What to plant in November

Wed, 26/10/2016 - 3:01pm

With November just around the corner, JUSTIN RUSSELL introduces you to a month of planting for abundance.

 

Yellow primose flowers

Shady herbs

Tue, 26/07/2016 - 5:10pm

PENNY WOODWARD suggests some shade-loving herbs for those difficult positions.

 

Freshly harvested turmeric roots

Turmeric is just the tonic

Wed, 29/06/2016 - 1:07pm

Turmeric is a cure-all plant that is easy to grow in all but the coldest regions, says PENNY WOODWARD.

Bunches of herbs

Make a bouquet garni

Sat, 11/06/2016 - 2:53pm

Add a bunch of flavour to your winter soups and stews with PENNY WOODWARD'S tips for beautiful bouquet garni.

Mixed spices

Mixed spices

Thu, 31/03/2016 - 9:50am

Home gardeners might consider spices too unusual and tricky to grow, but PENNY WOODWARD says there are good choices for warm and cool climates.

Herbs in a herb garden

Herb garden basics

Fri, 11/03/2016 - 11:37am

Autumn is a good time to plant herbs, so PENNY WOODWARD tells us how to start.

Bright green leaves of French tarragon

French tarragon

Thu, 17/12/2015 - 11:42am

With a delicious, mellow aniseed flavour, PENNY WOODWARD says French tarragon should be in everyone's garden.

Pages