How to…

Graceful tree frog

Creating a frog utopia

Tue, 20/12/2016 - 8:00am

Leap into 2017 and the wonderful world of frogs and water-loving insects, writes LEONIE SHANAHAN.

Saturated Soil

Restoring sodden soil

Fri, 16/09/2016 - 11:55am

JUSTIN RUSSELL explores some gentle techniques to help restore your wet, wet, wet soil.

Seed Packets

Spring seed sowing 101

Fri, 26/08/2016 - 12:00pm

Confused about which seed to sow where? Not sure which potting mix to use? JUSTIN RUSSELL has you covered.

Ancient grains

Ancient grains

Wed, 24/08/2016 - 12:42pm

From chia and quinoa to buckwheat and amaranth, ancient grains are being rediscovered, so why not try your hand at growing these highly nutritious pseudo-cereals that are also gluten free,...

coconut & mint face scrub

Make your own natural face scrub

Mon, 16/11/2015 - 3:55pm

Forget environmentally unfriendly microbeads, here's REBECCA SULLIVAN's recipe for a natural face scrub.

To prune or not to prune?

Thu, 24/09/2015 - 4:18pm

Opinion is divided on whether tomatoes benefit from pruning, writes Penny Woodward.

mulch

Grow your own mulch

Thu, 10/09/2015 - 12:02pm

With an El Nino threatening a dry spring, mulching may prove vital, writes JUSTIN RUSSELL.

hand-hewn handles

DIY tools

Thu, 20/08/2015 - 11:45am

Fancy a bespoke spade handle? OG reader Alan Tori shows how he made tool handles from a broken pear tree branch. 

Vegie Patch

Grow like a boss

Mon, 25/05/2015 - 2:44pm

JUSTIN RUSSELL celebrates 16 years of food growing by sharing his one fundamental principle for gardening success.

Garden Shadows

How to understand your site

Thu, 23/04/2015 - 9:42am

As autumn shadows lengthen, JUSTIN RUSSELL says that it's important to analyse the way light falls across your garden.

Pages